Avery County Schools

When you are relocating to our area of the High Country you'll want to have a clear understanding of the school system which serves the region. Here we've provided helpful contact information to make the transfer of records and other important documents easier.

The Avery County schools are phenomenal schools and each maintains a close knit atmosphere with teachers, students and parents working together. The school system is comprised of 9 schools consisting of 6 elementary schools, 2 middle schools and 1 high school. There are 2,410 students within the Avery district and 204 teachers providing smaller class sizes to optimize each child's learning potential. Please see the list of schools below for more information on where your child might be attending.

There are also a few private schools and academies in the area that offer different curriculums and instruction. Let us help you find homes and land with stunning views that span for miles and miles. If you are thinking of relocating to the mountains, take a look at our NC Mountain Property listings and contact us today!

Banner Elk Elementary Schools
185 Azalea Circle
Banner Elk, NC 28604
Ken Townsend, Principal
Beech Mountain Elementary School
60 Flat Springs Road
Elk Park, NC 28622
Frank Taylor, Principal
Crossnore Elementary School
1000 Walt Clark Road
Crossnore, NC 28616
Brenda Reese, Principal
Newland Elementary School
750 Linville Street
Newland, NC 28657
Ellis Ayers, Principal
Riverside Elementary School
8020 US 19E Highway South
Newland, NC 28657
April Avery, Principal
Freedom Trail Elementary
6110 North US Hwy 19E
Elk Park, NC 28622
Ruth Shirley, Principal
Cranberry Middle School
6230 North Highway 19E
Elk Park, NC 28622
Kim Davis, Principal
Avery Middle School
102 Montezuma Road
Newland, NC 28657
David Wright, Principal
Avery County High School
401 High School Road
Newland, NC 28657
Mark Garrett, Principal
Banner Elk Child Development Center
7974 Hickory Nut Gap Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604